Term Dates

2022/ 2023

Autumn Term 2022
Inset Day: Mon 5 September 

Term Starts: Tues 6 September

Inset Day: Friday 21 October 
Half Term: Mon 24 October to Fri 28 October
Term Ends: Fri 16 December 

Spring Term 2023
Inset Day: Tues 3 January

Term Starts: Wed 4th January
Half Term: Mon 20th  February to Fri 24 February
Term Ends: Fri 31 March

Summer Term 2023
Term Starts: Mon 17 April
May Day: Mon 1 May
Half Term: Mon 29 May to Fri 2 June
Term Ends: Fri 21 July

Inset Day: Mon 24 July

Inset Day: Tues 25 July

When setting term and holiday dates, Solihull Local Authority take the following factors into consideration:

 

  •   A school year must be 195 days with 190 teaching.

 

  •   Solihull schools set their own 5 training days.

 

  •   The school year should start as close to the 01 September as possible.

 

  •   The teaching week at the start or end of terms of not less than 3 school days.

 

  •   The teaching week to start on Monday and finish on Friday if possible.

 

  •   Christmas Break of 2 weeks.

 

  •   Spring Break to include Easter Bank Holiday weekend   and encompass 3 weekends.

 

  •   Equalise as far as possible teaching periods.

 

  •   Match as closely as possible neighbouring authorities, main exceptions are often September start  or matching half terms to meet the needs of non-Christian holy days.